Black Market Heroes PVE Server
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Black Market Heroes PVE Server

69.162.111.234:19710

You are not connected. Please login or register

kicked on ping over 300

5 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1kicked on ping over 300 Empty kicked on ping over 300 Sat Nov 15, 2014 4:45 am

thomas c

I don't know what the thinking is on kicking high ping players; not having the technical background to know the effects on a mp server, I have no thoughts on it. but I do have a few questions I hope someone can answer.

my situation is I am a truck driver playing on an alienware laptop using a Verizon wireless internet connection. depending on where I am in the country I can have as high as a 2 mbps download speed and as low as 10 kbps. at the low end of the range I know the game is unplayable.

with the wireless internet often my ping numbers bounce around and I noticed that, connected to the server, it is usually almost an instant kick once the ping spikes over 300.

my question is, is there a server setting to give a certain number of seconds to allow a ping to drop from a high spike before kicking a player or is it either on or off.

Or am I totally off base due to lack of technical knowledge and spikes in upload/download speeds has little or no effect on ping...only the connections between laptop and server?

hehe and while I am asking questions, I have noticed at times that, even with a relatively low ping, there are sometimes significant lag between trying to open a container and actually opening it or travelling cross country and coming to the edge of the world because it isn't being filled in before I get there.
what is causing that? is that server side or is it a matter of fluctuating download/upload speeds causing it?

it sure is annoying working with this wireless internet but most of the time I am not able to hook up to a high speed wifi site.